A New Beginning

16 May

I have to admit, I have tried to write blogs before, and all of them have failed. One was of poetry that I had written, another was a joint blog with my sister where I wrote (and she heavily edited) articles about various topics in World of Warcraft, and another one was just my ramblings. However, I hope this one will be different, because it involves food.

My college roommate, Alexis, will probably be one of the first to tell you that I like to talk about food- a lot. My sisters would actually be the first, but Alexis would come soon after that. After all, she has to put up with living with me; things like food are bound to come up in conversation. We watch various cooking shows a lot, like Kitchen Boss, Cake Boss, 30 Minute Meals, Iron Chef America, and so on and so forth in our free time, and I get the feeling Alexis gets irritated with my inputs (“Ooo I want to do that.. but I’d do it better [or different]!”) throughout the shows. I try not to, but seriously, I love food.

Being a college student, one of my main irritations is dorm food. I cannot stand my dorm’s dining hall. Granted, they have their moments, but most of the time I would go to the local sandwich place for lunch/breakfast and then eat crap junk food for dinner just to avoid the dining hall. So, when I come home on the weekends or in the summer, as the case is now, I’m euphoric because I have a full kitchen to cook in. My dad, bless his soul, gave me full range of the kitchen and pantry, and often times tells me to “go crazy” for dinner, which I do- gladly. Yes, some of my dishes don’t really come out the way I want them to, but that’s just a part of the learning curve. Most of the time my food is edible, and pretty darn tasty, which is more than can be said for a lot of aspiring chefs.

It is my hope that I will share with you, whomever you may be, my experiences in the kitchen, for better or for worse. No, not all of the recipes that I make are my own, but I’ll tell you where to find the original recipe if I use someone else’s work. I don’t have a camera at the moment, which makes adding photos here an issue, but I’ll get around to it eventually.

And without further ado, ladies and gentlemen, I give you… the young adult’s kitchen adventures. Bon appĂ©tit!

