BLTs

21 May

So today, I made rainbow cake. Yes, that has nothing to do with BLTs and yes, there will be a post about it later*. However, I was tired since I had been on my feet for the last hour or so, so I decided to make something super quick and super simple. That being said, I made BLTs. They were possibly the best BLTs I have had in a long time, and they’re really filling, too! Here’s the recipe:

  • 2 Tortillas, or 4 slices of toasted whole wheat bread
  • 1 package of bacon
  • 1 tomato
  • 4 romaine lettuce leaves
  • 1/2 cup mayo
  • 1/2 tsp. horseradish
  • 1/8 tsp fresh-ground black pepper

Since I didn’t have bread on hand (gasp!), I just used some tortillas.

Fry up the bacon, reserving the grease. Never throw out bacon grease; it’s too useful for other things. You can pretty much use it whenever you need to fry up anything; onions, meats, etc. Don’t throw it out. Set the cooked bacon on a few paper towels to drain.

Slice your tomatoes. If you’re using tortillas, it might be easier to make thin strips as opposed to slices. If not, just cut them into thin slices, about 1/4″.

Mix the mayo, horseradish, and pepper in a small bowl.

Spread the mayo mixture onto a tortilla or one side of all slices of toasted bread.

Top with two or three slices of bacon (I personally put 4, just because I’m in love with bacon), a few slices of tomato, and a lettuce leaf. If using tortillas, roll as best you can… you won’t be able to completely wrap everything up; just live with it and be happy with the delicious messy goodness.

Aaaaaaand… that’s it. Enjoy your sammich!

*About the rainbow cake… my dad’s camera has this annoying ability to run out of battery after taking a few pictures. And by a few, I mean 10 or so. Very annoying. So, I will be posting the rainbow cake recipe/procedure on a later date, once I actually get a working camera.

**EDIT: You can now find the recipe/ post here!

Leave a Reply

