Rainbow Cake

31 May

A few days ago, I gave my sister Missy a piece of my rainbow cake (the one I made before making BLT’s, if you remember me mentioning it) and she fell in love with it. So, she asked me if I would help her make it for her co-worker, who was just coming back from maternity leave. I said sure, because I love her to death (Missy, anyway) and the fact that rainbow cake is so freaking cool. Anyway, here’s what we did.

  • 1 box Betty Crocker white cake mix
  •      2 egg whites
  •      1 1/4 cup water
  •      1/3 cup veggie oil
  • Red, yellow, green, and blue food coloring
  • cooking spray

It’s a short list, but it makes for one really good cake. For the eggs, water, and oil, just follow the recipe on the back of your box. I can’t remember exactly the measurements… just follow what the box says. Anyway, mix it all together…

Mix it all together

…and it doesn’t matter if it’s completely mixed. You’ll be stirring more later.

Then, separate it equally into six bowls (I was a noob and got seven but whatever. Don’t be like me. Use six.).

Separate into SIX bowls

And get ready to dye!

Red: 5 drops red, 1 drop blue

Orange: 5 drops yellow, 2 drops red

Yellow: 6 drops yellow

Green: 5 drops green

Blue: 5 drops blue

Purple: 5 drops red, 3 drops blue

These colors are just approximate; feel free to use whatever combination to get your colors right. The drop of blue in the red helps it to not look so pink.

Pretty Colors!

(The purple is in the orange bowl… I didn’t have enough white ones. Boo.)

And then comes the (sort of) tedious part- baking. Take whatever color you want on the top, and bake it first. I ended up flipping the entire stack of cakes so that my first one turned out on the bottom, but that’s a little difficult. Anyway, bake in the order of the rainbow. Pour the batter into a well-greased 9″ cake pan (This is important! Don’t forget to grease the pan!), making sure to get all the batter out of the bowl that you can.

Spread it around, making sure that the batter is of even depth all the way around the pan. You want your cakes to be flat. I know it doesn’t look like a lot of batter, and you would be right. It isn’t. Just go with it. Anyway, spread it around.

Pardon the blurriness.

And then stick it in a 350 degree oven for 7 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean. I found that 7 minutes was perfect, but you may find that a different time works for your oven. I would put it in for 5 minutes, check it, and then add time accordingly your first time making this. When it comes out of the oven, let it cool in the pan while the next one bakes.

When the next one comes out of the oven, VERY gently flip the pan upside down onto parchment paper until the cake slides out. This is why greasing is important. If you don’t grease the pan, you’ll have to assemble your layer like a puzzle piece. It’s sorta annoying. Anyway, set it on a cooling rack, on top of the parchment paper, setting layers on top of the last (with parchment paper in between each of them!!).

And continue this process for all of your layers, rinsing out the cake pans in between colors (unless you happen to have 6 cake pans, which I don’t). Then let them cool for 10 minutes before attempting to frost. Longer would be ideal, but seriously I don’t have that kind of patience. 10 minutes sufficed.

Take your bottom later (mine was red), and set it on a plate or cake stand. Then, frost with a thin layer of icing. Don’t be tempted to  A) eat the icing out of the can or B) layer the icing too thickly between layers. You won’t have enough later if you do.

See how you almost can’t see (hehe I made a funny) the icing between the red and orange layer? That’s good. And keep doing that for all your layers.

When you come to the purple layer (or the red, depending on what order you do it in), put a huge glop of icing on top. Now is your chance to go crazy with the icing. I, of course, forgot to take pictures of the last few steps, but I’m sure you know how to spread icing around. The goal is to cover every single bit of color with the white frosting so that it’s a surprise when it’s cut into. So frost away! Have fun! Be free! And don’t be afraid of using too much icing. I don’t think it’s possible.

What’s the difference between frosting and icing, anyway? I use the two interchangeably, so deal with it.

At the end, your cake should look like THIS!

Rainbow Cake

Yummy, yummy, delicious goodness. Great for birthdays, baby showers, graduations, anniversaries, what have you. Enjoy your rainbow cake.

3 Responses to “Rainbow Cake”

  1. Aunt Elaine June 1, 2011 at 3:57 am #

    Hi, Becca — I was so surprised to see your food blog …. and I love food blogs, especially Pioneer Woman (and I have made her meatloaf too, yum!). I have been loving your food blog too.

    I have a suggestion for your rainbow cake layers… You can cut circles of parchment paper and put them in the bottom of your cake pans. Fold up a square of parchment paper and fold it in half, and again, and again — like when you cut out paper snowflakes as a kid — and then cut the parchment off to the size you need. Unfold and put in the bottom of your cake pans. That way you don’t have to worry about the cake getting stuck in the pan.

    I look forward to following your cooking adventures!! Love you!

  2. Missy June 4, 2011 at 6:33 am #

    Omgosh Aunt Elaine that is the best idea! I will have to try that next time! So smart! Bec, that cake was delicious! Thank you again!!!! It was a smashing success!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. BLTs « youngadultchef - June 10, 2011

    […] **EDIT: You can now find the recipe/ post here! […]

Leave a Reply

