Pineapple Upside Down Cake

12 Jun

Pineapple upside down cake.

Whenever I see those words, I swear my mouth starts watering within milliseconds. And this recipe? It’s absolutely divine. Hands down. It’s simply and undoubtedly amazing. I know I say that about a bunch of stuff, but this is seriously one of my favorite cakes EVER. And I’m sharing it with you.

I mean, how can you not drool just looking at that?!

Sorry. I get carried away sometimes.

Topping:

  • 1 cup firmly packed brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup unsalted butter
  • 1 (20 oz) can pineapple slices

Cake

  • 1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 6 Tbs cake flour (or just a little extra APF)
  • 6 Tbs ground almonds
  • 3/4 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 3/4 cup sugar
  • 1 cup unsalted butter, room temperature
  • 4 large eggs
  • 3/4 tsp vanilla extract
  • 3/4 cup sour cream

Surprisingly, this recipe is fairly simple.

To start off with, preheat your oven to 325 degrees. Then, put your brown sugar and butter in a saucepan, and let it all melt down over medium heat into gooey goodness (try saying that five times fast). Stir as little as possible. This process should take several minutes. Once everything is melted and bubbling merrily away, pour into a 10-inch cake pan*.

Don’t be tempted to eat this, no matter how delicious it smells. This is extremely hot and will burn you. I know from experience. Sigh.

Arrange your pineapple slices over the sugar mixture.

Combine your flour, almonds, baking powder, and salt in a medium mixing bowl.

In a separate bowl, beat your sugar and room temperature butter together until light and fluffy.

And here’s a hint for getting butter to room temperature really quickly: cut a stick of butter in half, and microwave it on a plate for 15-20 seconds. Works like a charm.

Add the eggs, one at a time, beating well after each addition.

Beat in the vanilla.

Add your dry ingredients alternately with the sour cream until all is incorporated .

Pour cake batter over pineapple slices.

Bake for 60-75 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean. It will be golden brown and delicous.

Let it cool for about 10 minutes so it has time to settle. Then, invert onto a serving platter or cake stand.

Serve while still warm.

AWESOMENESS. The end.

*When I first made this, I used 9 inch pans and it somehow magically fit. I still don’t believe they were 9 inch pans, because when I made this the second time, I also used 9 inch pans, and I had WAY too much batter to fit in the pan. If you use 9 inch pans, just pour the remaining batter into another cake pan (there should be enough so that the batter is about an inch deep) and bake it until it’s done. You’ll have a lovely cake/bread/scone thing to eat for breakfast.

*I’ve also made this successfully in a cheesecake springform pan, if you happen to have one around and don’t have 10 inch pans.

Leave a Reply

