Biscuits and Gravy

4 Aug

Every year, my family has a tradition to make biscuits and gravy on Christmas morning. Well, my mom would make it, and we would all enjoy it, but enough nit-picking. I had a craving for it ta few days ago, and so I made it for dinner, and it was delicious.

  • 2 1/4 cup Bisquick mix (or similar brand)
  • 3/4 cup milk
  • 1 tube pork sausage
  • 2-4 Tbs flour
  • 1 1/2 – 2 1/2 cups milk
  • fresh cracked black pepper

Bisquick is amazing, by the way. It makes pancakes, biscuits, dumplings, waffles, you name it. It’s pretty much one of my staple items in my pantry.

On to the good stuff, though. Mix up your biscuits as directed on the box. However, my biscuits always seem to be super dry, so I end up using 3/4 cup milk instead of 1/3.

Now spoon your dough onto a baking sheet and bake for about 10 minutes, or until golden brown and awesome-looking.

Okay, maybe these are a little too done, but they’ll do.

While your biscuits are baking, fry up your sausage in a skillet, breaking into small pieces as you do so.

When you can no longer see any pink, add a few tablespoons of flour- just enough to soak up the grease in the skillet.

About that much.

Let it cook for a few minutes, to get the “flour” flavor out.

Pardon the blurriness.

When it’s cooked, add about a cup and a half of heavy whipping cream.

It looked a bit skimpy so I added some more.

You will notice that I don’t add salt to this gravy. It’s because the sausage already has enough salt in it, and adding more salt would just be too… salty.

And it was probably for the better, because if I hadn’t, it would have been WAY too thick. Anyway, let it thicken to the desired consistency, and it should look something like this:

When it’s thick, spit your biscuits in two, pour the gravy over (adding pepper to taste), and serve immediately.

Happy eating!

One Response to “Biscuits and Gravy”

  1. Missy August 9, 2011 at 11:41 pm #

    Now I am craving this. Thanks!

Leave a comment