Fajita(ish) Quesadillas

20 Aug

So, I moved to college last weekend, and I’m on my own as far as cooking goes. I made a quesadilla with shallots and green peppers in a fajita spice mix and Monterrey jack cheese and oh my good holy Lord it was amazing. I didn’t take pictures of the process (I didn’t have a camera with me), but I plan on making it again soon so I’ll add pictures to this post when I do.

  • 1/4 tsp cumin
  • 1/4 tsp cayenne
  • 1/4 tsp chili powder
  • 1/4 tsp garlic powder
  • 1/8 tsp salt
  • 1/8 tsp pepper
  • pinch habenero powder (optional)
  • 1 shallot
  • 1/2 bell pepper
  • 1 Tbs veggie oil OR bacon grease
  • 1 tortilla
  • 2 oz. Monterrey jack cheese, shredded

Mix your spices into a small bowl, making sure to combine everything evenly.

Cut your bell pepper and shallot into thin strips.

Put your veggie oil and vegetables into a skillet over medium heat and sprinkle with spice mixture. Let cook until peppers are soft.

Note: I haven’t cooked any bacon at the new place yet, so I didn’t have a supply of bacon grease on hand, so I was forced to use veggie oil- don’t be like me. Although, you could probably add bacon to these quesadillas and they’d be even more fantastic. But only if you want to.

When the veggies are almost done, put your tortilla onto a flat griddle surface. Put half of your cheese onto one side of the tortilla, then top with veggies, and the remaining cheese.

Fold the tortilla in half and let cook for a few minutes until golden brown.

Flip, and let the other side brown.

Cut in half, and enjoy!

Happy eating!

Leave a Reply

