Vanilla Wafers

29 Sep

So, I have a newfound love for Nilla wafers. I never really had them as a kid, but now that I’m in college, it was kind of love at first bite. Anyway, I didn’t feel like going to the grocery store, so I decided to make them. I went to foodgawker (love that place) and looked for recipes… and boy, did I find them. Lots of them. To be perfectly honest, I just picked the first one I saw that looked nice. I’m weird that way. Here’s the recipe I tried.

  • 2 sticks butter, at room temp
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 2 egg yolks
  • 1 Tbsp vanilla extract (I used vanilla bean paste)
  • 2 1/3 cup flour

Put the butter, sugar, and salt into a bowl and either beat with a hand mixer or in a stand mixer for a few minutes, until the butter gets nice and fluffy. Add egg yolks and vanilla and beat until blended. Lower speed and add flour until incorporated. You might want to add the flour by hand with a spoon, because when I tried it, my dough was INSANELY thick and a whisk was not going to cut it. Heh.

Once your dough is ready, shape into 3 logs (after dividing the dough into 3 equal parts), 2″ in diameter (roughly) and refrigerate until chilled. Or freeze for a few minutes- that works too.

When it’s chilled, preheat your oven to 350 degrees. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper, and cut your logs into cookies. I got about 15 cookies from 1 log, but it depends on the thickness of your cookie. Place them on your baking sheet, making sure they aren’t touching, and bake for 12-15 minutes, or until the edges are starting to turn golden brown. Let them cool on wire racks before eating.

Now, as to the quality and of these cookies… I’m not a huge fan. The texture just wasn’t right- I wanted it to be like a Nilla Wafer, and it was more like a shortbread cookie- very grainy and fell apart very easily. Plus, there seemed to be a ton of flour… if I make them again, I’ll see what adding less does.

Anyway, happy eating!

Leave a Reply

