A Disappointment

20 Feb

Tonight was one of those nights when I just knew I wasn’t going to get to sleep… lots of things on my mind. So, like I sometimes do when I’m stressed, I went into the kitchen to see what I had. Bacon… eggs… blue cheese dressing… tortillas… chopped onions and bell peppers… and my spice cabinet all stood out to me at the time. I had absolutely no idea what the heck I was doing, but I figured what the heck, I’ll throw them together in an impromptu breakfast burrito and see what happens.

What happened, you ask? At first, it wasn’t terrible. But as I got toward the end, I really began to think that it was really terrible, for several reasons.

1. The bacon was nearing the end of its fridge life.

2. The veggies were, too.

3. I’m not a fan of blue cheese. I used to be, as a kid, but now I’m really not. The only reason I have it at all is because it goes in the infamous crack dip and I still had half a bottle sitting in my fridge. I might make that dip later this week… we’ll see.

4. My choice of spices (curry and paprika… what the hell was I thinking) was not ideal.

So there you have it. I cooked my bacon, let it drain while I cooked up the veggies (in bacon grease- that was the one thing I did right!). I assembled my “breakfast burrito” by spreading some blue cheese dressing on the tortilla which, annoyingly, had a hole right in the center of the thing. Then I layered on the bacon, and then the veggies, and a final drizzling of dressing to top it all off. Bleg.

The more I think about it, the more I really regret making the thing, but there were several things that could have made this go from absolutely abominable to fantastically amazing.

1. Use fresh bacon.

2. Use fresh veggies.

3. Use ranch dressing -or- salsa.

4. Add cheese (I didn’t have any on hand, but cheese makes everything better).

5. Only use salt and pepper as seasonings; don’t over-complicate things.

6. A more even bacon-to-veggies ratio. I had a big ole’ heap of bacon and only a smattering of vegetables.

And… that’s that. Just thought I’d share this… less than ideal kitchen adventure.

Hope you have happier eating than I just had!

One Response to “A Disappointment”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. I Made a Breakfast Burrito! « The Young Adult Chef - February 22, 2012

    […] remember when I made the post about my breakfast-burrito-that-failed? Well, I got some stuff and made another one, and it was FANTASTIC. Here’s what I put in […]

Leave a Reply

