Easy Peasy Pancakes

21 Feb

It’s kind of funny… whenever I make a recipe, the first time I make it is almost always the best. Whenever I make it afterward, it almost loses a little bit of the magic it had the first time. Yeah, that sounds weird but it’s true. This rule has only one exception: pancakes. I make some mean pancakes, man.

Sorry, but it’s true, and I have a favorite pancake recipe that I’d like to share with you. I cannot honestly remember where I got it from (so I apologize to the creator), but it’s pretty much awesome. I have it written down on a sticky note, which I keep in my spice cabinet:

(You like the hot pink sticky note? I love it.)

But seriously, I almost never look at it because I pretty much make these whenever I crave pancakes, which is, sadly,  a lot these days.

  • 1 cup all purpose flour
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 cup milk
  • 1 Tablespoon oil
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • OPTIONAL:
  • 1 teaspoon sugar
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract

I’m not going to lie, I usually don’t beat the egg before I put it in- I usually just crack it right into the bowl with the rest of the ingredients. So sue me.

So with all your ingredients in hand, throw them into a bowl or big measuring cup for easy pouring, mix it until well incorporated, and our by 1/4 cup or 1/3 cup increments onto a hot griddle. Butter optional. Serve with anything from syrup to peanut butter to whatever your little heart desires.

Happy eating! And happy Pancake Day/Fat Tuesday!

Leave a Reply

