Lemon Bars

9 May

So I made lemon bars tonight (really last night by the time this post goes up, but you get the picture). They were delicious. I couldn’t find my 9×13 pan. But they were still delicious. Here’s the recipe.

for the bars:

  • 1 1/2 cups flour
  • 1 1/2 cups sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup butter, melted & slightly cooled
  • 3 large eggs
  • 1/2 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
  • 2 tablespoons fresh squeezed lemon juice
  • 1 teaspoon packed lemon zest (from 1 lemon)

for the glaze:

  • 1 cup powdered sugar
  • 3 tablespoons fresh squeezed lemon juice
  • 1 teaspoon packed lemon zest (from 1 lemon)

Ironically, I’m snacking on one as I write this. Anyhoo, preheat your oven to 350 and butter a 9×13 inch pan really really well. It will stick like none other if you don’t.

So funny story, I couldn’t find my 9×13 inch pan, so I ended up using  a 10×14 inch pan… I think it’s used for broiling stuff, but it still worked. And yes, I measured. I also lined it with aluminum foil, because that’s just how I roll.

And I sprayed it with pam, because I was too lazy to soften some butter. Moving on.

In a big bowl, combine your flour (I definitely just typed that like “flower”), sugar, and salt.

Add your melted butter, attempting to not burn yourself on the bottom of the bowl like I did. Whisk to combine.

In a separate bowl, crack three eggs in, and add your vanilla and optional lemon extract. I added it because I really like lemony things and I had it on hand. However, you don’t have to add it, but it certainly acts like a kick in the mouth of lemon flavor.

Don’t you love these bowls? I know I do! I’ve got two smaller ones in blue and pink. They’re fantastic.

Mix those suckers up. Then comes the fun part- zesting and juicing a big lemon.

Hm… you can’t really tell, but it’s all in there. Anyway, give it a quick stir to combine and then add it to your flour-sugar-salt-butter mixture.

Try not to eat/drink this batter, because it is quite delicious, and it smells DIVINE! But don’t eat it. You want to bake it into bars.

Pour it into your prepared pan, and stick it in your oven for 30-40 minutes, or until golden brown and delicious, like so:

But here’s the thing… you really have to wait for this to cool before you glaze it and enjoy. I know, I know, it’s so hard, but trust me- it’s worth it.

To make the glaze, just combine 1 cup of powdered sugar and the juice and zest from another lemon. Adjust sugar to control thickness.

And don’t completely spill the powdered sugar all over the counter like I did…

Queue powdered sugar explosion.

Dump it onto your bars, making sure to use a rubber spatula to get all that glazey goodness out of the bowl. I am having so much trouble typing for some reason tonight.

Kindly ignore the beef bullion in the background… I made pork chops while these were baking. See the previous post.

Anyhoo, let these sit in the fridge for 5 minutes or so to set up, and then cut into squares, and serve!

Happy eating!

Leave a Reply

